STUKELY WESTCOTT (1592-1677)
On August 8, 1638, nearly five months after Stukely Westcott had been ordered to leave Salem, Roger Williams "freely admitted
twelve loving friends and neighbors" into equal ownership with himself of lands he had first purchased from the indians in 1636.
On that list of stalwart men first appears the name of Stukely Westcott, and second, the name of William Arnold, both ancestors
of the Westcotts of Cheshire and Milford, NY. The eighth name on the list is that of William Carpenter, who with Westcott and
Arnold, made the crossing together from England. Others were John Greene, Thomas James, Robert Cole, William Harris, John
Throckmorton, Thomas Olney, Francis Weston, Richard Waterman and Ezekiel Holliman--all thirteen men of names that have been
perpetuated down through the years of nealy three centuries by deeds of public spiritedness. Roger Williams was an ancestor of the
Westcott line, his progeny allied in nearly every generation. (Descendants of Stukely Westcott Vol. 1, Pg. 15, 1932)
All but Arnold, Greene and Carpenter, the former being from Hingham, Ma. were from Salem. Including Roger Williams,
all became ancestors, through marriage, in the second to fifth generations, of the the descendants of Stukely Westcott.
(Stukely Westcott, Vol. 1, Pg. 15, 1932)
When the whole number of settlers, including the original thirteen, had reached fifty-two, they made a first division
between them of a portion of the lands upon which the city of Providence and its immediate suburbs, including Cranston,
are located, allotting to each a "home lot," so called, and any outlying six-acre lot. The "home lots" each contained about five
acres, and according to an old map of Providence, were located in the following order from north to south: Gregory Dexter,
Mathew Waller, Thomas Painter, Edward Manton, John Greene Jr, Benedict Arnold, Francis Wickes, WILLIAM ARNOLD, THOMAS
JAMES, JOHN GREENE SR, John Smith, Widow Reeve, Joshua Verin, ROGER WILLIAMS, JOHN THROCKMORTON, WILLIAM
HARRIS, Alice Daniels, John Sweet, WILLIAM CARPENTER, ROBERT COLE, THOMAS OLNEY, Thomas Angell, FRANCIS WESTON,
RICHARD WATERMAN, EZEKIEL HOLLIMAN, STUKELY WESTCOTT, William Reynolds, Daniel Abbott, Chad Brown, John Warner,
George Rickard, Richard Scott, William Field, John Field, Joshua Winsor, Thomas Harris, Adam Goodwin, William Borrows,
William Mann, William Wickenden, Nicholas Power, Widow Tiler, Widow Sayer, Thomas Hopkins, Edward hart, Matthew Weston,
John Lippitt, Hugh Bewit, Robert West, William Hawkins, Christopher ------nthank and Robert Williams.
(Stukely Westcott, Vol. 1, Pgs. 15-16, 1932)
The first BAPTIST CHURCH to be organized in America, the old First Baptist Church of Providence, was founded
March, 1638/39, by ROGER WILLIAMS, EZEKIEL HOLLIMAN, WILLIAM ARNOLD, WILLIAM CARPENTER, ROBERT
COLE, JAOHN GREENE, WILLIAM HARRIS, THOMAS JAMES, THOMAS OLNEY, RICHARD WATERMAN, STUKELY
WESTCOTT and FRANCIS WESTON, all but John Throckmorton of "the thirteen proprietors," becoming members. This
venerable church was for the first century and a half of its existence of the Six-Principle Baptist sect. The six principles, or
doctrines, held by the church, may be found in Hebrews 6:1-2 (new testament). (Stukely Westcott, Vol. 1, Pg. 16, 1932)
June 24, 1635: Arrives in America, Salem, MA (8 people).
1636: Made a freeman.
December 25, 1637: 1 acre granted to "Stuky Wesket" (8 people).
March 12, 1638: General Court allows him to leave Salem, MA.
January 5, 1639: Published in the church at Dorchester.
1639: Excommunicated from church.
(Stukely Westcott, Vol. 1, 1932)
May 12, 1642, Stukely Westcott was a party to the agreement for the division of Pawtuxet from Providence. The Arnolds
settled at Pawtuxet Falls. (Stukely Westcott, Vol. 1, Pg. 16, 1932)
The below is the inscription on a bronze tablet to Stukely Westcott, in the house of the New England Historic-Genealogical
Society in Boston, Mass. Katherine Augusta (Westcotte) Tingley of California, was a noted theosophist. Stukely Westcott
settled in Salem, 1635, the year before he was made freeman. He had at least landed interests in Warwick by 1643.
(The writing upon the tablet is centered and beautifully constructed-editor.)
Bronze Tablet in Boston:
FREEMAN OF SALEM 1636
ONE OF THE 13 ORIGINAL PROPRIETORS
OF PROVIDENCE, R. I.
SETTLED IN WARWICK, R. I. 1648
EIGHT TIMES A MEMBER OF
THE COURT OF COMMISSIONERS
GENERAL ASSISTANT OF
PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS, 1653
DIED 12 JANUARY 1677-8, AGED ABOUT 85
KATHERINE WESTCOTTE TINGLEY
PAYS HIM THIS TRIBUTE
(Stukely Westcott, Vol. 1, Pg. 33, 1932)
The birth of Damaris Westcott and the marriage of her parents are recorded in the parish register of St. John
the Baptist Church at Yeovil. The search was made by E. Dwelly, Hants, Eng., 1933. (Stukely Westcott, Vol. 2, Pg. 76, 1939)